top of page

Fix Up Your Fashion



Happy Manday--I'm back with another He's That Guy post! Today we're going to break down fashion. I'll let you in on a secret, fashion is not as hard as you think it is, it's actually rather simple. Once you know what style/look you're aiming for, then you're set! But the only hard part can be figuring out your style, but don't worry, we'll do that together.


Before we jump into too much, I want to give you a few links to some style quizzes. While I wish I had the time to sit down and personally help you identify your style, neither of us have the time for that, so these quizzes will have to do. I recommend taking more than one quiz, that way you can have a broader base of questions and a clearer idea of your style.


Here's the links:





Alright, now let's get into some fashion staples that you need to have in your closet.


A Nice Pair of Jeans

You've got a lot of freedom with all of the staples I'm going to list, especially this one. When it comes to jeans, you can pick whatever style and color you'd like, but I highly suggest investing in one nice pair of jeans that you can wear on a day-to-day basis as well to a semi-casual event. I suggest the Levi 501 or 505 fit. They're a regular straight fit jean and come in 11 different shades/colors. Pacsun is also a good store to find some fun and different styles of jeans that are very fashion forward as well as great for everyday wear.



Go-To Sneaker

My converse are such a go to that they have literally formed to my foot - find that sneaker for you. I suggest a solid color or a neutral color palette so that it goes with everything, and seek comfort and style. You want a sneaker that you can throw on with anything and can wear all day without any pain or discomfort. For this I suggest something like Nike's Air Force 1s, a classic Vans canvas shoe, New Balances, or really any lifestyle sneaker.



Must-Have Dress Shoe

You're going to go to fancier events i.e. weddings, funerals, parties. You need a nice dress shoe that kind of fits the same criteria as your go-to sneaker: comfort and style. This shoe is one that you can use to express your personal style. You could get a classic dress shoe or even go for something that a chelsea boot. The shoe store is your oyster.



Graphic Tees

To build the perfect outfit, you need the perfect graphic tee. Lots of freedom here with colors and designs and I suggest American Eagle, Pacsun, and Amazon. These places always have a range of graphic tees that are also super soft and are a variety of price ranges!



Everyday Belt

Every guy I know wears a belt basically everyday. I don't have a ton advice around this topic because belts are super simple. Usually black or brown, a gold or silver buckle, and usually not seen unless your shirt is tucked in. Just make sure you get the right size.



 

Jewelry

Moving onto accessories. This is for my guys that wear jewelry. I have one main suggestion: invest in good quality jewelry. You don't want something that is going to turn green quickly, because then you have to keep buying a new piece. My biggest option for you is etsy. Etsy has a ton of options that are good quality at reasonable prices that will be long lasting. There are also a ton of different styles.


 

Aesthetics

Your fashion "aesthetic" is just a modern way of saying your personal style. There's a lot of terms like preppy, e-boy, frat boy, country, southern, athletic, and more. Throw those out of the window. Your aesthetic is whatever you want to wear. Let me say that again. WEAR. WHAT. YOU. WANT. TO. WEAR. I know I'm a girl, so there's a bit of a style barrier between us, but let me tell you this... I go to a small school with a small community, and I used to be afraid of wearing what I wanted to because it would be different from what those around me were wearing, but I learned not to care. Wear what you want, and you will be the most comfy you've ever been.


 

Well fellas, that's all I've got for you. I could've made this post a whole lot longer but I didn't want to. I wanted to help you determine your foundation but I want YOU to do the shopping and deciding. I don't want to shop for you, I want you to be confident in shopping for yourself, and buying items that you love.


So get your basics, style them how you want to, and absolutely rock it.


ttyl,

Carrie.



Comments


bottom of page